Tuesday 24 November 2015

Identification of Neisseria species

Public health England has issued “UK Standards for Microbiology Investigations ID 6: identification of Neisseria species.”

The genus Neisseria belongs to the family Neisseriaceae. There are currently 25 Neisseria species and 3 subspecies of which may be isolated from humans and animals1. Four species have been reclassified. The clinically important Neisseria species (Neisseria gonorrhoeae, Neisseria meningitidis, Neisseria lactamica and Neisseria cinerea) are relatively easy to identify from the non-pathogenic Neisseria. N. gonorrhoeae and N. meningitidis are the two main pathogens of the group. The other species of Neisseria such as N. lactamica and N. cinerea are generally considered commensals, but have been implicated as causes of infection in patients who are immunocompromised. More recent species to the genus Neisseria are N. oralis, N. shayeganii, N. wadsworthii, N. zoodegmatis and N. animaloris isolated from human clinical samples.

The document provides guidance about the identification of these organisms. To access the document, see Public Health England.

Posted by Tim Sandle

No comments:

Post a Comment

Pharmaceutical Microbiology Resources

Special offers