Wednesday 23 September 2015

Identification of Salmonella species

Public health England has issued “UK Standards for Microbiology Investigations ID 24: identification of Salmonella species.”

There are currently 2 validly published species and 6 subspecies. They are Salmonella bongori, Salmonella enterica and its subspecies - Salmonella enterica subspecies arizonae, Salmonella enterica subspecies diarizonae, Salmonella enterica subspecies enterica, Salmonella enterica subspecies houtenae, Salmonella enterica subspecies indica and Salmonella enterica subspecies salamae.

Cells are rod-shaped, non-spore-forming, and predominantly motile by means of peritrichous flagella with diameters of around 0.7-1.5μm and lengths of 2-5μm with a few exceptions. On blood agar, colonies are 2-3mm in diameter. Colonies are generally lactose non-fermenters. They obtain their energy from oxidation and reduction reactions using organic sources, and are facultative anaerobes. They produce acid from glucose usually with the production of gas, and are oxidase negative.

The document provides guidance about the identification of these organisms. To access the document, see Public Health England.

Posted by Tim Sandle

No comments:

Post a Comment

Pharmaceutical Microbiology Resources

Special offers